What territories entered France in the 19th and 20th centuries?

In 1814, Senegal was obtained, which was captured by the British during the Napoleonic Wars.

In 1830, the conquest of Algeria began.

From 1837 – Gabon.

At the end of the XIX century (1880-1900) Sudan, Mauritania, Chad, Guinea, Niger became the colonies of France.

At the beginning of the 20th century – the territory of the modern Central African Republic, Congo, Benin.

Since 1918 (after the First World War) – Cameroon, Togo (former German possessions).

In total, by 1940, the French colonial possessions covered 9% of the land area of ​​our planet.

In the western hemisphere, territorial acquisitions were small, they were the islands of the Caribbean: Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, and French Guiana.

In the Indian Ocean basin, the French annexed: Comoros, Reunion, Mahe Island, Madagascar, Djibouti (since 1894).

In the Pacific Ocean basin: Indochina (Laos, Vietnam, Cambodia), New Caledonia, Tahiti, Vanuatu, the Marquesas Islands.

One of the components of a person's success in our time is receiving modern high-quality education, mastering the knowledge, skills and abilities necessary for life in society. A person today needs to study almost all his life, mastering everything new and new, acquiring the necessary professional qualities.